Resolving with Gentleness

Gentleness 2

I am all about resolutions.

I love introspection and self-improvement. I love digging deep into why I feel the way I feel or do the things I do. So, each year, I look forward to making a New Year’s Resolution.

Trust me, I’ve made them all. Resolutions to not say “I’m sorry” so much. Resolutions to lose 50 pounds. Resolutions to not communicate so much. Resolutions to drink more water. Resolutions to write every day. So many resolutions. Like I said…I am a woman of introspection.

But, with introspection often comes constant self-scrutiny on my part, or as one of my friends put it, “performing surgery without anesthetic.”

This year, I resolved that things would be different. (Haha! See what I did there??) Instead of making a list or to-do’s or chronicling all the ways that I need to not be so ________ (insert “hot mess” characteristic here), I chose to make a resolution of six words: Let gentleness reign in my life.

Let gentleness reign.

What does this mean to me? Well, first of all, it means putting down the surgical instruments and being gentle on myself…being gentle with my flaws, being gentle with my heart and mind, being gentle with my “Yes” and my “No.” It means giving myself some room to grow and giving myself permission to not have everything together. It means letting myself feel all my feelings, particularly the not-so-pretty ones (anger, grief, disappointment, fear).

But, this resolution is not just about me…I want to be gentle with others. I want to give others the room to grow and be and become. I want to take the time to see and hear people clearly. I want everyone in my life to know that they are seen, heard, and loved.

More than with my interactions though, I resolve:

-To accept change with gentleness and grace.

-To see the world (cultures, politics, issues) with grace.

How to do this? I don’t have a blueprint or all the answers. I don’t think this journey will only take 365 days. All I know is I am seeking gentleness.

What are you seeking in 2016?

Gentleness 1

 

 

Leave a Reply

