When the Changes Come…

I’ve noticed something about life. Change doesn’t happen in a nice Spring breeze. It comes hurricane style. Nope, no nice drizzle of light rain here. Instead, it’s a deluge.

We often don’t experience just one change at a time in our life, but multiple things happening all at once. There seems to be no sure footing. Everywhere we stand seems to be moving and settling and then moving once again.

At least that is how it has felt lately for me…

You see, I’m not a person who enjoys change. I like consistency, routine, reliability. I like to know my role and what is expected of me. I like to know what I’m gonna be doing and who I am going to be doing it with.

In fact, I have to be pretty uncomfortable—almost miserable—to welcome change with open arms. Most times, I respond to it like a small child having a tantrum: there’s a lot of whining and stomping my foot. Has anyone else been there???

I think God knows this about me. I think He knows that left to my own, comfortable devices, I would never change or grow or let things go or embrace new things. He’s on to me. Boy, is He on to me.

So, how do we respond graciously when the changes come? How do we fix our hearts on the constant of His love for us when all we want to do is panic?

I definitely don’t have all the answers, but there is one thing that I know. I can respond with grace ONLY when my heart believes the truth. I can’t rely on cliché, church-y answers. You know what I am talking about–those things that we say when people ask how we are so we seem like we have everything under control, those empty words that we repeat in small talk conversations to keep the attention off of us. the smile that we plaster on our face that no one believes.

I can’t hold onto those things when the wind howls and the skies grow dark and everything I thought I was sure of slips through my fingers.

I can only respond with grace to the changes of my life when my heart believes the truth.

What truth is this?

He is good.

My plans have changed. – BUT He is good.

This relationship ended. – BUT He is good.

My body is a battlefield.  – BUT He is good.

People have moved on. – BUT He is good.

Loneliness aches. – BUT He is good.

We can trust the end of our story, when we know the author is good.

 

Aslan 2

“Aslan is a lion- the Lion, the great Lion.”
“Ooh” said Susan. “I’d thought he was a man. Is he-quite safe? I shall feel rather nervous about meeting a lion”
“Safe?” said Mr. Beaver; “don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.” ~The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe 
One thought on “When the Changes Come…

  1. I LOVE this! I like change about as much as you. God is good even when we would rather have it another way. Love you!

Leave a Reply

